Advancing reliable, innovative, user-focused IT service & support solutions for School of Medicine faculty, researchers & staff.

Core Areas:

Steven George

Steven George

Director, Client Services

Steven George

Steven George

Director, Client Services

SOMTech / Client Services

Phone: (804) 828-3564

Email: steven.george@vcuhealth.org

Desktop Support Services

High quality technical service & support to the faculty & staff at the School of Medicine.

The Desktop Support Services (DSS) team provides high quality, customer-focused technical support to the School of Medicine faculty/staff. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff provide consultation and solutions for all technology needs, including hardware, software, server, and virtual environments. DSS acts as a dynamic liaison between VCU Technology Services and VCU Health IT and ensures that faculty/staff customer satisfaction expectations are addressed while minimizing downtime. 

DeMond Owens

DeMond Owens

Manager, Desktop Support Services

DeMond Owens

DeMond Owens

Manager, Desktop Support Services

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: demond.owens@vcuhealth.org

Antonio Crew

Antonio Crew

Manager, IT Support

Antonio Crew

Antonio Crew

Manager, IT Support

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: antonio.crew@vcuhealth.org

James O’Brien

James O’Brien

Assistant Manager

James O’Brien

James O’Brien

Assistant Manager

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: james.obrien@vcuhealth.org

Michael Baines

Michael Baines

IT Support Analyst

Michael Baines

Michael Baines

IT Support Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: michael.baines@vcuhealth.org

Michael Balod

Michael Balod

IT Support Analyst

Michael Balod

Michael Balod

IT Support Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: michael.balod@vcuhealth.org

Carl Dailey

Carl Dailey

IT Support Analyst

Carl Dailey

Carl Dailey

IT Support Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: carl.dailey@vcuhealth.org

Ronald L. Davis

Ronald L. Davis

IT Support Analyst

Ronald L. Davis

Ronald L. Davis

IT Support Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: ronald.davis@vcuhealth.org

Rick Haines

Rick Haines

IT Support Analyst

Rick Haines

Rick Haines

IT Support Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: frederick.haines@vcuhealth.org

Vena Wheeler Hantke

Vena Wheeler Hantke

IT Support Analyst

Vena Wheeler Hantke

Vena Wheeler Hantke

IT Support Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: vena.mcnaughton@vcuhealth.org

Lionel Vennie

Lionel Vennie

IT Support Analyst

Lionel Vennie

Lionel Vennie

IT Support Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: lionel.vennie@vcuhealth.org

Thomas Hohing

Thomas Hohing

IT Support Analyst

Thomas Hohing

Thomas Hohing

IT Support Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: thomas.hohing@vcuhealth.org

Kody Wyatt

Kody Wyatt

IT Support Analyst

Kody Wyatt

Kody Wyatt

IT Support Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: Kody.Wyatt@vcuhealth.org

Ronald Bell

Ronald Bell

IT Support Analyst

Ronald Bell

Ronald Bell

IT Support Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Email: Ronald.Bell@vcuhealth.org

Security & Infrastructure

Collaborative and focused teamwork to ensure the secure management of infrastructure and a continuity of service for faculty & staff.

Security & Infrastructure is dedicated to managing the School of Medicine‚Äôs IT infrastructure and protecting sensitive and mission-critical data. Our team works collaboratively with VCU Technology Services and VCU Health IT to find solutions enabling you to securely share information within and the wider research and academic communities. In addition to developing and enforcing SOM IT security policies, our expert team also provides server management, systems architecture consultation, database support, and storage services.

Steve Kuchta

Steve Kuchta

Manager, Security & Infrastructure

Steve Kuchta

Steve Kuchta

Manager, Security & Infrastructure

SOMTech / Client Services

Phone: (804) 628-5388

Email: steve.kuchta@vcuhealth.org

Romano Woodfolk

Romano Woodfolk

Systems Analyst

Romano Woodfolk

Romano Woodfolk

Systems Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Phone: (804) 828-8320

Email: romano.woodfolk@vcuhealth.org

Tokoia Lewis

Tokoia Lewis

Systems Analyst

Tokoia Lewis

Tokoia Lewis

Systems Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Phone: (804) 628-3249

Email: tokoia.lewis@vcuhealth.org

William Crehore

William Crehore

Systems Analyst

William Crehore

William Crehore

Systems Analyst

SOMTech / Client Services

Phone: (804) 827-1278

Email: william.crehore@vcuhealth.org

Research Systems

Engineering custom hardware/software solutions and recommendations to support the Academic Research enterprise.

This unit supports all SOM research cores, research infrastructure and its associated laboratories and collaborates closely with PIs, research staff, Desktop Support Services, Security & Infrastructure teams to deploy custom solutions to manage proprietary systems.

(Vacant)

(Vacant)

Linux Systems Analyst / Engineer (Middleware)

(Vacant)

(Vacant)

Linux Systems Analyst / Engineer (Middleware)

SOMTech / Client Services